Divine Liturgy of the Holy Orthodox Church of Antioch CD

Be the first to review this product

Availability: Out of stock


Quick Overview

Conductor: Joseph Yazbeck

Divine Liturgy of the Holy Orthodox Church of Antioch CD

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views


Conductor: Joseph Yazbeck

A complete recording of the hymnology of the Divine Liturgy of St. John Chrysostom in Byzantine chant, according to the usage of Antiochian Orthodox Church, and sung in English.

Recorded at St. George Orthodox church, El-Jedediah, Lebanon in 2004.

If you are interested in traditional Byzantine chant (especially from the Arab Orthodox Churches) and if you want Byzantine chant in English, you won't find a recording of the Divine Liturgy better than this!

This recording represents years of work and includes all hymns of the liturgy sung to melodies common in the Arab (and especially Antiochian) Orthodox Churches, performed superbly, with delicacy and conviction.

The quality of the recording is very good: clear as a bell, good sound quality and resonance. The acoustics of the church used for the recording are excellent -- alive but with out excessive reverberation -- and bring the recording to life.

The counterplay of the chanting of the melody for each hymn with the underlying ison is wonderful, and some of the hymns recall the sound captured by Sr. Marie Keyrouz in her ground-breaking CD "Chant Byzantine."

All in all, this is a "must have" for lovers of Byzantine chant.

Includes liner notes with descriptions and informative material about the hymns in English, and complete hymn text and notation (in Byzantine notation) on an accompanying PDF file on the CD. The addition of the PDF file of hymn text and Byzantine notation is a first in the recording of Orthodox chant. It points out that this project is equally a teaching tool as it is a performance for listening, but it delivers additional value of great interest.

1. The Great Litany (fourth plagal tone)
2. The First Antiphon (second tone)
3. The Little Litany (fourth plagal tone)
4. The Second Antiphon (second tone)
5. The Little Litany (fourth plagal tone)
6. The Third Antiphon & Little Entrance: Resurrection troparion (first tone)
7. The Trisagion Hymn (second tone)
8. The Epistle Reading with Alleluia (second tone)
9. The Holy Gospel with Glory to Thee, O Lord...
10. The Cherubic Hymn (first tone)
11. The Litany of Supplication (first plagal tone)
12. Father, Son and Holy Spirit...
13. The Anaphora (first plagal tone)
14. The Meghalinarion
15. Among the first be mindful...
16. The Litany Before the Lord
17. Communion Hymn: Praise the Lord (fourth plagal tone)
18. Hymns of Communion
19. The Prayer behind the Ambon
20. Blessed be the Name of the Lord
21. The Dismissal
22. Lord Have Mercy (fourth and first plagal tones)

Total Time: 68' 53
Issue Date: 2005

Additional Information

Author Mount Lebanon Choir
Cover No

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.